Friday, July 29, 2011

Milwaukee County Board Passed Redistricting Plan To Cut One Supervisor District

County redistricting plan creates two Hispanic majority Districts.

By H. Nelson Goodson
July 29, 2011

Milwaukee - On Thursday, the Milwaukee County Board voted 13-6 to approve a redistricting plan eliminating Supervisor Joseph Rice's 6th District and creating two predominately Hispanic Districts. The plan goes before County Executive Chris Abele for his signature.
By eliminating the North Shore 6th District, the number of Districts will drop to 18 from the current 19 in 2012. In mid June, Rice filed a lawsuit in Circuit Court and on Wednesday he entered a motion asking for an injunction of the current plan claiming the Board didn't allow enough time for public input when it passed a preliminary plan.
The Milwaukee County redistricting plan passed on Thursday creates two Hispanic voting-age majority Districts. The 4th District will have a 50.6% Hispanic voting-age majority and the 12th District will have a 65.9% Hispanic voting-age majority. But the recently approved Milwaukee County redistricting plan could be jeopardize by the state Republican redistricting plan SB-148 that was also passed. Most local and county governments have to adjust their redistricting boundaries to conform with the state plan.
Governor Scott Walker (R) has yet to sign SB-148 into law.
Voting in favor of the Milwaukee County redistricting plan were Supervisors, Eyon Biddle Sr., Gerry P. Broderick, Marina Dimitrijevic, Jason Haas, Nikiya Q. Harris, Lee Holloway, Willie Johnson Jr., Theodore A. Lipscomb, Michael Mayo Sr., Peggy A. Romo West, James "Luigi" Schmitt, Johnny L. Thomas and John F. Weishan Jr.
Supervisors opposed were, Mark Borkowski, Paul M. Cesarz, Lynne De Bruin, Patricia Jursik, Joseph Rice and Joe Sanfelippo.

Connected by MOTOBLUR™ on T-Mobile

No comments: